The CHP School Bus Driver of the Year is from MCOE. 

Monterey County Office of Education

Leadership, Support and Service to Prepare All Students for Success

Dr. Deneen Guss, County Superintendent of Schools

  1. October 2019 Power Shutoff Information

    Sat Oct 26, 2019
  2. 2019 Assessment Results

    Wed Oct 9, 2019
  3. 24th Countywide Spelling Bee Champion Named

    Sun Mar 3, 2019
  4. January Update from Monterey County Board of Education on Millennium Charter High School

    Tue Jan 15, 2019
  5. Special Education Teacher Recruitment and Retention Grant Awarded to MCOE Consortium

    Tue Dec 18, 2018

CHP to Honor MCOE Bus Driver

CHP to Honor MCOE Bus Driver

Wednesday, May 27, 2015

For Immediate Release -- May 27, 2015

Contact:  Barry Brown / Communications and Public Relations Officer    831.784.4245
              Eleanor Arroyo / Supervisor III, MCOE Transportation            831.755.6428

MCOE Bus Driver to Receive Prestigious School Bus Driver of the Year Award from CHP

*News Media Invited to Attend*

Friday, May 29
10:00 a.m.
Monterey County Office of Education – Rooms A/B
901 Blanco Circle, Salinas, CA 93901

Salinas -- Greg Perez, a school bus driver for the Monterey County Office of Education (MCOE), will be honored Friday, May 29th as School Bus Driver of the Year (Southern California Area) by the California Highway Patrol.  The award is given annually in recognition of outstanding performance and exceeding expectations.
“Greg personifies what it takes to be an excellent and dedicated school bus driver. This is not just a job for Greg,” said Eleanor Taylor-Arroyo, Supervisor III, MCOE Transportation. “He looks at it as a commitment to the students, parents, and staff he serves.”

Perez joined MCOE Transportation in 1981, and has logged over 700,000 accident-free miles while transporting special needs students from pre-kindergarten age to 22 years old. Perez attends monthly training sessions on safety, first aid, fire equipment, bus evacuation, and procedures specific to transporting special needs students.

The awards ceremony will take place on Friday May 29 at 10 a.m. at the Monterey County Office of Education, 901 Blanco Circle in Salinas. The news media is invited to attend.

Scheduled to participate:

• Senator Bill Monning (District 17)
• Dr. Nancy Kotowski, Monterey County Superintendent of Schools
• Commissioner Joe Farrow, California Highway Patrol
• Capt. William Perlstein, California Highway Patrol
• Officer Valeska Jackson, California Highway Patrol
• Josh Jorn, Monterey County Office of Education
• Eleanor Taylor-Arroyo, Monterey County Office of Education