Skip To Main Content

Mobile Toggle

Main Header Container

Mobile Toggle

Breadcrumb

Migrant Education Services

field laborers picking vegetables

Program Mission

The mission of the Migrant Education Program, Region 16, is to ensure that all migrant students experience a high quality education and improved way of life.

All migrant students can be successful, be proud of who they are, and be positive contributors to society.

Program Vision Statement

Program Achievements

  • Established and implemented a Professional Learning Community for Migrant Resource Teachers to share best practices and effective intervention strategies.
  • Implemented a new Certificate of Eligibility (COE) to identify and recruit eligible migrant students.  Facilitated monthly support meetings for all migrant recruiters to ensure proper implementation.
  • Ensured that parent workshops/trainings are presented across the county to strengthen family relationships, trust and communication.
  • Participated in a Federal Program Monitoring Review and was found 100% compliant (only region in the state).
  • Planned and implemented a Regional La Familia Conference that served nearly 500 migrant students and parents.
  • Planned and implemented a Regional Speech and Debate Program for approximately 250 6th through 12th grade students.
  • Served as a model region in all components of the program and hosted professionals from other areas to share best practices.

The program accomplishes its mission by:

  • Providing direct student services to ensure migrant students achieve academic success and obtain support in social and health services,
  • Ensuring that migrant parents understand the educational system and have the capacity to be actively engaged in the education of their children at home and at school,
  • Providing technical assistance and professional development to all educational professionals who work with migrant students, and
  • Ensuring that the program meets state and federal compliance by monitoring program effectiveness and appropriate use of migrant funds.

District Contacts

School District District Contact Email
Alisal Union School District* Alicia Fletcher alicia.fletcher@alisal.org
Chualar Union School District** Esther Medina emedina@montereycoe.org
Gonzales Unified School District**

Esther Medina (K-8)

Robin Cohen (9-12)

emedina@montereycoe.org

rcohen@montereycoe.org

Greenfield Union School District* Erin Ramirez erinramirez@greenfield.k12.ca.us
King City Union School District** Karla Caliz kcaliz@montereycoe.org
Monterey Peninsula Unified School District** Esther Medina emedina@montereycoe.org
North Monterey County Unified School District* Aida Ramirez aramirez@nmcusd.org
Salinas City Elementary School District* Mary Pritchard mpritcha@salinascity.k12.ca.us
Salinas Union High School District* Ethelvina Sanchez Fortin e.sanchezfortin@salinasuhsd.org
San Ardo Union School District** Karla Caliz kcaliz@montereycoe.org
San Lucas Union School District** Karla Caliz kcaliz@montereycoe.org
Santa Rita Union School District** Esther Medina emedina@montereycoe.org
Soledad Unified School District**

Karla Caliz (K-8)

Robin Cohen (9-12)

kcaliz@montereycoe.org

rcohen@montereycoe.org

South Monterey County Joint Union High School District** Robin Cohen rcohen@montereycoe.org

*Sub-grant district
**Direct service district