Educational Technology

Monterey County Office of Education

Leadership, Support and Service to Prepare All Students for Success

Dr. Deneen Guss, County Superintendent of Schools

There are no official standards for using technology in California. However there are some de facto standards and resources that are used commonly in conversations about Educational/Instructional Technology.

ISTE/NETS Standards

The National Educational Technology Standards (NETS) are a set of EdTech standards published by the International Society for Technology in Education (ISTE). You may hear them called NETS or ISTE Standards by different people though they refer to the same thing.

These are standards that break down technology usage concepts for Students, Teachers, and Administrators. It is important to note that these standards are conceptual "Participate in local and global learning communities to explore creative applications of technology to improve student learning" rather than content-level or skill-level specific standards.

The Long Beach Unified Common Core State Standards K-12 Technology Skills Scope and Sequence

Oftentimes just referred to as the "Long Beach Standards," this is a detailed list of skills that are required by Common Core State Standards and the Smarter Balanced tests. It lays out each specific technology skill and levels them by grades, using four different codes for each skill in each grade level: Introduce, Reinforce, Mastery, and Optional. It is a great resource for those trying to look at articulating technology skill development between grade levels and schools.

Long Beach Unified Technology Skills Scope and Sequence

Are we missing anything?


Denise Green

Educational Administrator
Phone: 831.784.4113

Social Media