Statewide Assessment

Monterey County Office of Education

Leadership, Support and Service to Prepare All Students for Success

Dr. Deneen Guss, County Superintendent of Schools

Statewide Assessment


The Testing and Accountability page of the California Department of Education’s website provides information on student academic achievement and program requirements.

California Dept. of Ed - Testing & Accountability

Highlights include information about:

  • Accountability Progress Reporting (APR), which reports both the state Academic Performance Index (API), and the federal Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP) and Program Improvement (PI).
  • California Assessment of Student Performance and Progress (CAASPP), California's new statewide student assessment system established January 1, 2014.
  • California English Language Development Test (CELDT), including administration of the CELDT program. Test results are used for student’s performance and district accountability purposes for English Learners.
  • California High School Exit Exam (CAHSEE): Beginning with the Class of 2006, all public school students will be required to pass the exam to earn a high school diploma.
  • Smarter Balanced Assessment System, including the Latest information about new generation of English-language arts and mathematics assessments.

California Assessment of Student Performance and Progress (CAASPP) is California's new statewide student assessment system. The CAASPP System was established on January 1, 2014 and replaced the Standardized Testing and Reporting (STAR) Program, which became inoperative on July 1, 2013.

CAASPP Homepage

In 2015 CAASPP included the following assessments:

  1. Smarter Balanced
    In California, all students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 will participate in the 2015 Smarter Balanced tests, which include both ELA and mathematics content areas. These tests are administered online.

  2. California Alternate Assessments (CAA)
    The CAA for English–language arts and mathematics tests are individually administered to students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 who have significant cognitive disabilities. All eligible students are required to participate in a field test of these new, online assessments in spring 2015.

  3. California Standards Tests (CASTs)
    The California Science Test (CAST) is an online test based on the California Next Generation Science Standards. All local educational agencies (LEAs) with eligible students in grades five and eight will administer a pilot CAST. LEAs with eligible students in high school (i.e., students in grades ten, eleven, or twelve) will be pre-selected and only one grade will participate in the spring 2017 pilot. The CAST pilot uses the current California Assessment of Student Performance and Progress test delivery system and will only be administered online. Students will not receive scores for the pilot test; however, student participation data will be collected and reported for accountability.

  4. Standards-based Tests in Spanish (STS)
    The optional STS are multiple-choice tests that allow Spanish-speaking English learners in grades 2 through 11 to demonstrate their knowledge of the California content standards by taking a reading/language arts (RLA) assessment in their primary language. STS items are developed by bi-literate, bilingual California educators and test developers.

  5. Smarter Balanced Assessment Consortium: Usability, Accessibility, and Accommodations Guidelines
    Provides descriptions of accommodations and designated supports.

Training videos and web archives can be found on the CAASPP Training Webpage.


Kenyon Hopkins, M.S.

SELPA Executive Director
Phone: 831.755.0342

Irenea Herrera

SELPA Administrative Assistant
Phone: 831.755.0342

School Closures