Early Start Infant Program

Monterey County Office of Education

Leadership, Support and Service to Prepare All Students for Success

Dr. Deneen Guss, County Superintendent of Schools

Early Start Infant Program

Programs for Children with Special Needs

Early Start: Ages 0-3 years

The Monterey County Office of Education provides developmentally appropriate educational intervention and parent/care giver training to infants and toddlers ages 0 through 3 who are:

  1. blind or visually impaired.
  2. deaf or hard of hearing.
  3. orthopedically impaired.
  4. have global developmental delays.

Our skilled professional staff ensures appropriate provision of services through interdisciplinary credentialed teams of providers for the child and his/her family. A team may include one or more of the following:

  1. service coordinator
  2. deaf and hard of hearing teacher (D/HH)
  3. occupational therapist (OT)
  4. speech and language pathologist (SLP)
  5. teacher of the visually impaired (TVI)

An individualized family service plan (IFSP) is prepared in conjunction with the family. It is based on appropriate evaluations that incorporate the team approach to best reflect the child’s needs. The intent of the program is to support families to acquire developmentally appropriate skills necessary to promote the child’s development.


Elizabeth Swain
Principal

eswain@montereycoe.org

Daniela Solorzano
Secretary

dsolorzano@montereycoe.org
831.422.8141 | Fax: 831.759.2061

Infant Program

MCOE West Campus - Room 5
901 Blanco Circle
Salinas, CA 93901

Regina Thomas
Infant Specialist
rthomas@montereycoe.org
831.237.0049 x012

Melanie Crall
Infant Specialist
mcrall@montereycoe.org
831.237.0049 x012

Susan Sanchez
IPP Infant/Bilingual
susanchez@montereycoe.org
831.237.0049 x010

Greenfield High School - Room 304
225 S. El Camino Real
Greenfield, CA 93927 | 831.783.5285

Colleen Ewart
Infant Specialist
cewart@montereycoe.org

Maria G. Aguilera
IPP Infant/Bilingual
maaguilera@montereycoe.org

Infant Services for Deaf/Hard of Hearing Students

Monterey County Office of Education - Rooms 1 & 2
901 Blano Cir.
Salinas, CA 93901 | 831.237.0050

Jennifer Bodner
D/HH Specialist
jbodner@montereycoe.org
Ext. 021

Kimberly Frazee-Gobel
D/HH Specialist
kgobel@montereycoe.org
Ext. 021

Maria Sidiropoulou-Leontis
D/HH Specialist
mleontis@montereycoe.org
Ext. 025

Karen Nalley Artalejo
D/HH Specialist
knalley@montereycoe.org
Ext. 250

Leah Sutton
D/HH Specialist
lsutton@montereycoe.org
Ext. 023

Brooke Summers
D/HH Specialist
bsummers@montereycoe.org
Ext. 023

Melissa Knight
D/HH Specialist
mknight@montereycoe.org
Ext. 023

Leticia Luevano
IPP Infant/DHH Itinerant/Bilingual
lluevano@montereycoe.org
Ext. 020

Alma Velarde
IPP Infant/DHH Itinerant/Bilingual
avelarde@montereycoe.org
Ext. 020

Monterey County Office of Education - West Campus 5
901 Blano Cir.
Salinas, CA 93901 | 831.237.0049

Karen Nalley Artalejo
D/HH Specialist
mknight@montereycoe.org
Ext. 023

Infant Services for Speech & Language Therapy Services

Monterey County Office of Education - West Campus 5
901 Blano Cir.
Salinas, CA 93901 | 831.237.0049

Alicia Hopkins
Speech/Lang Pathologist
ahopkins@montereycoe.org
831.237.0049 x013

Contacts

Terri Dye

Assistant Superintendent
tdye@montereycoe.org
Phone: 831.755.0345
Fax: 831.769.0732

Connie Espinoza

Executive Assistant
cespinoz@montereycoe.org
Phone: 831.755.0345
Fax: 831.769.0732

What's New

Here you can find the newsletters from
your student's principal.